Connecting Regions of Asia.

19 injured in BJP-TMC clash in Tripura



At least 19 people were injured in a clash between supporters of BJP and TMC at Teliamura in Tripura’s Khowai district.

Prohibitory orders under Section 144 of the CrPC have been imposed in the area following the incident.

Two police personnel were also among those injured in the clash days before the civic body polls in the state.

“In an order issued today, Teliamura Sub Divisional Magistrate Md Sajjad P has imposed section 144 in 13, 14 and 15 ward areas of the Teliamura Municipal Council from today to maintain peace, law and order. The order will be in force till November 24,” said an official statement issued late on Thursday.

Trouble started around 9.30 pm on Wednesday in Kalitila area as TMC workers were holding a demonstration, and reached near a BJP office, Assistant Inspector General of police (Law and Order) Subrata Chakraborty said.

Supporters of both parties came face to face, leading to an altercation, he said.

Police tried to pacify both the groups, but had to use “mild force” and tear gas shells to control the situation, Chakraborty said.

A total of 19 persons, including two police personnel, were injured in the clash, he said.

Three cases were registered in connection with the incident at Teliamura police station.

Two cases were filed by the father of TMC worker Anirban Sarkar who was admitted to a hospital with injuries, police said.

A separate case was registered by the police with charges of attempt to murder, voluntarily causing grievous injury and unlawful assembly, they said.

Five persons, including Sarkar, were arrested, police said.

Four of them were produced before a court, which remanded them to judicial custody till November 30.

Sarkar could not be produced before the court as he is in hospital.

Senior TMC leader Sushmita Dev alleged that despite directives from the apex court to ensure free and fair polls on November 25, candidates and activists of her party are under attack.

Civic body polls would be held on November 25. Out of the total 20 civic bodies in the state, the ruling BJP has won seven uncontested.

Courtesy –

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More