Connecting Regions of Asia.

PM Modi On India’s Unopposed Election To UN Security Council


Prime Minister Narendra Modi said today that he was “deeply grateful” after India was elected unopposed as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council. India won 184 votes in the 193-member General Assembly in the election held Wednesday.

“Deeply grateful for the overwhelming support shown by the global community for India’s membership of the UN Security Council. India will work with all member countries to promote global peace, security, resilience and equity,” PM Modi tweeted.

India, Mexico, Ireland and Norway were elected to the UN Security Council but the 193 UN member states must return on Thursday to continue voting to fill one more vacant seat after there was no clear winner.

The Security Council is the only UN body that can make legally binding decisions like imposing sanctions and authorizing the use of force. It has five permanent veto-wielding members – the US, Britain, France, China and Russia – and 10 non-permanent members.

“Member States elect India to the non-permanent seat of the Security Council for the term 2021-22 with overwhelming support,” India’s Permanent Mission to the UN tweeted.

India will sit in the powerful UN body for two years beginning January 1, along with the five permanent members and non-permanent members Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam.

To be elected to the Council, candidate countries need a two-thirds majority of ballots of Member States that are present and voting in the Assembly. After operating virtually since March amid the coronavirus pandemic, diplomats returned to the General Assembly hall on Wednesday wearing masks and followed physical distancing to cast their secret ballots at allotted times.

India was the only candidate for the lone seat from the Asia-Pacific category. Its candidature was unanimously endorsed by the 55-member grouping, including China and Pakistan, in June last year.

India has previously been elected as a non-permanent member of the Council for the years 1950-1951, 1967-1968, 1972-1973, 1977-1978, 1984-1985, 1991-1992 and most recently in 2011-2012.

Courtesy – NDTV

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More