Connecting Regions of Asia.

Tripura Defeat For BJP


The Tipraha Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance (TIPRA), a newly formed tribal based party in Tripura on Saturday secured absolute majority in the 30 member Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) elections held on April 6 last.

In the 30-member tribal council, elections were held in 28 seats on Tuesday last and the remaining two seats would be nominated by the Governor at the advice of the state government.

Sources in the State Election Commission after counting of votes said that Tipraha Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance (TIPRA), secured 18 seats, BJP won in nine seats and one seat was secured by an independent candidate.

TIPRA chairman Pradyot Kishore Deb Barman said TIPRA won  the election and secured absolute majority in the tribal council and also appealed to people to maintain peace and calm in the area.

The TTAADC constitute two third of the state territory and is the home to tribals, who constitute one third of the population.

“We have to maintain unity. I appeal to the people to refrain from attacking the party office and houses of the supporters of IPFT, BJP, CPIM and Congress. They too are our people and we do not want to fight amongst ourselves. If we want unity then we have to maintain peace. They too will join our party after elections,” Deb Barman told reporters.

He also said that no house of indigenous people or any community should be attacked  on April 12 as the party would organize a victory rally on that day from the tribal council headquarters at Khumulwung, about 25 km from here.

“Do not fight amongst yourself, this has continued for 70 years and let the whole of India see how Tipraha maintain unity even after winning the election,” Deb Barman said.

Deb Barman who was the state unit President of Congress resigned the party in September 2019 citing his differences with the party high command. A month later he announced the name of the new organization— The Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance (TIPRA), which was initially a social organization but later in 2020 it turned into a political party.

Speaking with reporters, CPIM leader and former chief executive member (CEM) Radhacharan Debbarma said that the win is for the people as they have exercised their franchise.

“We accept that we lost this election. Why we have lost the election will be discussed and reviewed later by the party, but presently, we can say that it is the win of the people,” Debbarma said.  

 “People made a promise to each other that they want to defeat the present government which is what we believe was responsible behind the defeat of the government,” Debbarma said.

BJP state spokesperson, Subrata Chakraborty said that the party contested in 14 constituencies and won in nine seats.

The CPI-M led Left Front, which governed TTAADC for the last twenty years before the April 6 elections, could not win a single seat.

The Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT), the ally of the ruling BJP in the state, which contested in 17 seats also could win in a single seat.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More